Editing Software

Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve [2026]: $299.99 vs Free

Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve [2026]: $299.99 vs Free

Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve comes down to platform, price model and how deep you grade. Final Cut Pro runs on Mac and iPad only and costs $299.99 once in the US, or sits inside Apple Creator Studio at $12.99 a month. DaVinci Resolve runs on more systems, and its free edition costs $0 but caps output at Ultra HD.

Both editors changed this autumn. Apple announced a Creator Studio update on October 27, 2026 that built MotionVFX content and Pixelmator Pro editing into Final Cut Pro. Blackmagic kept shipping point releases of Resolve 21. If you are weighing Resolve against Adobe instead, the separate DaVinci Resolve vs Premiere Pro comparison covers that matchup.

Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve in 2026: the short answer

Choose Final Cut Pro if you cut on a Mac, shoot on an iPhone and want the lowest friction between camera and export. Choose DaVinci Resolve if you work on Windows or Linux, grade log footage, or need one app that covers editing, color, effects, motion graphics and audio. Both are actively developed. Neither was retired, renamed or replaced in the last three months.

The table below gives the verdict by situation. Each row is explained further down, with the vendor page that backs it. All figures were checked on November 7, 2026, against Apple’s newsroom and product pages and Blackmagic’s site and support readme.

Your situationPickMain reason
Mac-only creator, weekly YouTube uploadsFinal Cut ProBuilt-in MotionVFX content, Content Hub, iPhone capture app
Windows or Linux editorDaVinci ResolveFinal Cut Pro does not run there
Shooting log footage, grading as a skillDaVinci ResolveColor, HDR and noise tools sit in the same app
Zero budget, 4K delivery is enoughDaVinci Resolve (free)$0, output capped at Ultra HD
iPad and iPhone firstFinal Cut ProSame product family on Mac and iPad
Short animated intros and titlesEither, with a template sourceFinal Cut Pro has MotionVFX content, Resolve has motion graphics tools

The honest tiebreaker is hardware. If you own a Mac and plan to stay on one, Final Cut Pro wins on convenience. If there is any chance you will edit on a Windows PC at work or school, Resolve saves you from learning two programs.

The second tiebreaker is how much of the pipeline you want inside one window. Resolve folds editing, color and audio into a single install. Apple splits some of that work across companion apps you buy separately. Neither approach is better in the abstract. It depends on whether you value one place to finish a job or a lighter editor that does fewer things well.

Specs table: Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve side by side

This table uses only what Apple and Blackmagic published on their own pages. Where a vendor has not stated a spec, the cell says so rather than guessing. Prices are US figures, checked November 7, 2026.

SpecFinal Cut ProDaVinci Resolve
MakerAppleBlackmagic Design
Current product namesFinal Cut Pro for Mac, Final Cut Pro for iPadDaVinci Resolve, DaVinci Resolve Studio
StatusActive, not retired or renamedActive, not retired or renamed
PlatformsMac and iPadCross-platform, including Windows and Linux
One-time price$299.99 (Mac App Store)Free edition at $0, Studio sold separately
Subscription routeApple Creator Studio, $12.99/month or $129/yearNone listed on the pages checked
Education price$2.99/month or $29.99/year (Creator Studio)None listed on the pages checked
Output capNone listed in Apple’s announcementFree edition: Ultra HD or lower
GPU useMac hardware, some features need Apple siliconFree: one GPU on Windows and Linux. Studio: multiple GPUs
OS requirementmacOS 26.6 or later (Creator Studio version)Not stated on the pages checked
Built-in effects and templatesMotionVFX content, new in the October 27 updateResolve FX, with extra effects in Studio
ScopeEditing app with companion appsEditing, color, visual effects, motion graphics and audio in one app
Phone capture companionFinal Cut Camera (iPhone)Blackmagic Camera app
Newest release on the vendor pageVersion number not stated in the October 27 announcement21.1 listed on Blackmagic’s site, Studio 21.1.2 build in the support readme

Two cells need a note. Apple’s October 27 announcement describes the new features but does not name a Final Cut Pro version number. Apple’s support pages, according to a single-source reading, list Final Cut Pro for Mac 12.4 and Final Cut Pro for iPad 3.4 as the versions included with Creator Studio. Treat those as the builds you are most likely to see and confirm on your own App Store page.

On the Resolve side, the maker’s product page lists Resolve 21 as the newest line. A Studio 21.1.2 build appears in Blackmagic’s support readme dated October 23, and a 21.2 update was reported on November 4. More on that in the autumn changes section below.

Read the none-listed cells as gaps in the sources, not as missing features. A vendor announcement highlights what is new, so an older capability can be absent from it and still exist in the app. Where the difference could change your buying decision, the sections below say what to verify yourself.

Pricing in November 2026: $299.99 once, $129 a year, or free

Apple now sells Final Cut Pro two ways. You can buy the Mac version once for $299.99 in the US, or subscribe to Apple Creator Studio at $12.99 a month or $129 a year. New subscribers get a one-month free trial. Existing subscribers receive the November updates at no extra charge, and Apple said the updates arrive through the App Store during November 2026.

ProductPrice modelUS priceNotes
Final Cut Pro for MacOne-time purchase$299.99Mac App Store
Apple Creator Studio, monthlySubscription$12.99/monthIncludes Final Cut Pro, one-month free trial
Apple Creator Studio, yearlySubscription$129/yearSame bundle, billed annually
Apple Creator Studio, educationSubscription$2.99/month or $29.99/yearCollege students and educators
MotionOne-time purchase$49.99Separate Mac app
CompressorOne-time purchase$49.99Separate Mac app
DaVinci Resolve (free edition)Free$0Output capped at Ultra HD, one GPU on Windows and Linux
DaVinci Resolve StudioPaid editionSee the note belowBlackmagic is running a limited-time 20% off promotion

Blackmagic’s price for Studio is the one number I will not print in a table. Blackmagic’s homepage, according to one reading of the page, showed a $639 promotional figure described as 20% off, with the promotion reportedly running through November 20, 2026. A separate report put Studio at $236 against a $295 list price over the same period. Blackmagic also listed an October price increase tied to rising memory costs, and the pages checked do not say whether that increase touches Studio or only hardware. With sources that far apart, check the live price on Blackmagic’s store before you budget.

Regional prices differ. Apple’s Hong Kong page, for example, lists the one-time Final Cut Pro purchase at HK$2,288 and the education plan at HK$18 a month or HK$180 a year. Those are Hong Kong dollars, not conversions of the US figures, so only compare prices from the same storefront.

Three-year cost of the Apple routes

The arithmetic on Apple’s side is simple, so here it is. These totals use the US prices above and ignore taxes and free trials.

RouteYear 1Year 2Year 3
Final Cut Pro, one-time$299.99$299.99$299.99
Creator Studio, yearly$129.00$258.00Not listed
Creator Studio, monthlyNot listedNot listedNot listed
Creator Studio, education yearly$29.99Not listedNot listed

The yearly plan costs less than the one-time purchase for the first two years and passes it early in year three. The one-time purchase breaks even against the yearly plan at about 2.3 years. If you only need Final Cut Pro, the one-time price wins from year three on. If you also want the other Apple creative apps in the bundle, the subscription spreads the cost. For students, the education plan undercuts everything else on this page except the free Resolve edition.

Final Cut Pro for iPad is a separate question. The App Store listing shows it at $4.99 a month or $49 a year, according to the listing text, and the listing also surfaces Creator Studio purchase options. Because purchase paths differ by account and region, read your own listing before paying. Apple also still sells Logic Pro at $199.99, Pixelmator Pro at $49.99 and MainStage at $29.99 as one-time Mac purchases, which matters if you compare the bundle to buying apps one by one.

What changed this autumn in Final Cut Pro and Resolve

Apple’s October 27 update is the biggest Final Cut Pro change of the past three months. It adds built-in MotionVFX content (effects, plug-ins, transitions, templates and motion graphics tools), integration for editing in Pixelmator Pro, a video Content Hub, more keyframe easing controls, the ability to detach clips from the primary storyline, and 23 additional transcription languages. It also adds editing controls for Cinematic mode footage recorded in Final Cut Camera, plus a redesigned Liquid Glass interface.

Apple did not retire or rename anything. It kept the one-time Mac purchase and added Final Cut Pro to the Creator Studio subscription. The Creator Studio version of Final Cut Pro for Mac requires macOS 26.6 or later, and the iPad version requires iPadOS 26.6 or later on an iPad with an A16, A17 Pro, or M1-or-newer chip.

DateVendorWhat happened
Sep 8, 2026BlackmagicResolve 21.1 announced, described as adding AI assistant integration, expanded still-photography support and more than 100 tools and controls
Not listedAppleFinal Cut Pro for Mac 12.4 and iPad 3.4 reportedly shipped, with Cinematic mode post-production controls
Oct 23, 2026BlackmagicResolve Studio 21.1.2 documented in the support readme
Oct 27, 2026AppleCreator Studio update announced: MotionVFX, Pixelmator Pro, Content Hub
Nov 4, 2026BlackmagicResolve 21.2 reported, adding support for Apple’s new touchscreen MacBook Pro
Nov 6, 2026AppleNew iMac with M6 became available, from $1,499

The 21.2 release comes from PetaPixel and No Film School, which both cover Resolve’s support for Apple’s new touchscreen Mac. The reports also mention Blackmagic Gen 6 LUTs and other workflow, performance, AI and bug-fix changes. I could not confirm the 21.2 number on Blackmagic’s own product page, so check the download page for the build you actually get.

The pattern matters more than any single release. Apple ships big feature drops tied to its bundle and its hardware cycle. Blackmagic ships frequent point releases and ties promotions to new processors. If you hate relearning menus, Apple’s cadence is calmer. If you want fixes and new tools quickly, Blackmagic’s is faster.

Editing workflow: primary storyline vs a multi-workspace app

Final Cut Pro organizes a project around a primary storyline. Clips attach to it, and the October update lets you detach a clip from that storyline and place it freely. That change matters for editors who found the storyline too rigid for layered titles and cutaways. It still favors fast assembly over fine control of every track.

Resolve takes the opposite approach. Blackmagic describes it as one platform that covers editing, color correction, visual effects, motion graphics and audio post-production. You move between workspaces for each job instead of exporting to another app. That structure rewards editors who want to finish a whole project in one place. It also asks for more learning time up front.

Media organization splits the same way. Final Cut Pro leans on libraries, keywords and, since this autumn, a Content Hub for video assets. Transcript Search and Visual Search help you find footage by what was said or shown, but Apple’s own footnotes say both need a Mac with Apple silicon or a supported iPad, and both are available only in US English. Resolve organizes through bins and its own search tools, which suit teams that already name files by a strict convention.

The practical test is how you cut. If you assemble a story from a dozen interview clips and b-roll, the storyline gets you to a rough cut quickly. If you build a layered sequence with many overlapping elements, the multi-track habits you learned elsewhere carry over to Resolve more easily. Neither choice is wrong. Pick the one that matches how you already think about a timeline, then spend a weekend on a short test project to confirm it.

Control surfaces tell you who Blackmagic expects to use Resolve. Its site sells a DaVinci Resolve Speed Editor at $349, a Replay Editor at $445 and an Editor Keyboard at $535. You do not need any of them, and the app works fine with a mouse. They do show that Resolve is built for long sessions where an editor lives in the program for eight hours, while Final Cut Pro is tuned for quick turnarounds on a laptop.

Color, effects and audio: where DaVinci Resolve goes deeper

Resolve is the stronger tool for color and finishing, and Blackmagic’s own feature list shows why. Beyond the free edition’s editing, color, visual effects, motion graphics and audio, the Studio edition adds multiple GPUs, output above Ultra HD, noise reduction, motion blur, AI tools, HDR tools, camera tracking, voice isolation, surround and immersive audio, extra Resolve FX and remote rendering.

CapabilityFinal Cut Pro (per Apple’s announcement)DaVinci Resolve (per Blackmagic’s lists)
Color gradingNot a headline item in the October updateCore part of the app, plus HDR tools in Studio
Noise reductionNot listedStudio
Camera trackingNot listedStudio
Voice isolationNot listedStudio
Surround and immersive audioNot listedStudio
Remote renderingNot listedStudio
Cinematic mode focus editingNew controls for footage from Final Cut CameraNot listed
Motion graphicsMotionVFX content, separate Motion app at $49.99Built into the app

A Not listed cell does not mean the feature is missing. It means the vendor’s recent announcement and product page did not mention it. Final Cut Pro can still do basic color work, and Apple sells Motion and Compressor for jobs the editor does not cover. The point is that Resolve ships the finishing tools inside one purchase, while Apple’s approach spreads them across companion apps.

Log footage shows the gap most clearly. Technology journalist Jason Hiner wrote in a ZDNET article that Final Cut Pro “doesn’t handle Log footage well.” That is one reviewer’s view and the article is not dated in my source file, so test your own camera’s log profile before you commit. If you shoot flat profiles on a mirrorless camera, a free Resolve install costs you nothing to try.

Audio is the other split. Resolve lists voice isolation and surround and immersive audio in its Studio feature set, and it treats audio post-production as part of the same product. Final Cut Pro handles everyday mixing well enough for dialogue and music beds, but heavier audio work usually moves to a dedicated tool. If you deliver podcasts with video or mix for a client, price that extra tool into the Final Cut Pro side of the ledger.

AI features: Creator Studio tools vs Resolve Studio tools

Apple’s October 27 announcement frames the update around AI and creator tools. For Final Cut Pro specifically, the verified additions are Transcript Search, Visual Search, 23 more transcription languages and the Pixelmator Pro hand-off. The search features need Apple silicon and run in US English only, so an editor working in another language gets less from them than the headline suggests.

Blackmagic markets Resolve Studio around AI as well. Its homepage pitches a 20% discount on Studio to people with the new Apple M6 and NVIDIA RTX Spark processors, which tells you where the company wants the AI workload to run. Studio’s listed AI tools sit alongside voice isolation, noise reduction and camera tracking. Blackmagic’s Resolve 21.1 announcement, as reported, added AI assistant integration. One October report says the assistant connects through MCP and that Python scripting moved to the Studio edition, but that claim rests on a single unverified source, so confirm it in the release notes before you build a workflow on it.

AI-adjacent taskFinal Cut ProDaVinci Resolve Studio
Search by spoken wordsTranscript Search (Apple silicon, US English)Not listed on the pages checked
Search by visual contentVisual Search (Apple silicon, US English)Not listed on the pages checked
Transcription languages23 added in the October updateNot listed on the pages checked
Voice cleanupNot listedVoice isolation
TrackingNot listedCamera tracking
General AI toolsIncluded in Creator Studio announcementListed under Studio features

For a creator who captions every video, the transcription angle matters most. Apple’s 23 extra languages help non-English channels. If you caption in English only, the gap between the two editors on this point is small, and a dedicated captioning workflow may matter more than which editor you pick.

One more caution on AI claims. Vendors describe these tools in feature lists, not in accuracy tests, and neither company published error rates for transcription or voice isolation on the pages checked. Run a two-minute clip with background noise through each tool and listen before you trust it on a client deliverable.

Titles, templates and animated intros

Intros, lower thirds and logo stings are where many channels spend their first hours in an editor. Final Cut Pro now ships with MotionVFX content built in, which Apple describes as effects, plug-ins, transitions, templates and motion graphics tools. That gives a Mac editor a template library without a separate purchase. Resolve ships with its own Resolve FX and motion graphics tools, and Studio adds more effects.

You can also skip both libraries and drop in a finished clip. A rendered intro from an intro maker imports into either editor like any other video file. If you want a reference for how long an intro runs and at what resolution and frame rate, the animated logo intro theme page lists those specs for one finished design.

Template-first work favors Final Cut Pro this month, because the library arrived with the editor. Build-from-scratch work favors Resolve, because its motion graphics tools live in the same app as the timeline and you never export a project to another program. Neither route is faster for a one-off title. The difference shows when you make the same lower third forty times a year.

Render settings for a channel intro

These are practical starting points rather than vendor limits. Match the intro to the rest of your channel so it does not change frame rate mid-video.

SettingStarting pointWhy
Resolution1920×1080 or 3840×2160Matches the channel. Free Resolve tops out at Ultra HD
Frame rateSame as your main footage (24, 30 or 60)Avoids stutter at the join
Length5 to 10 secondsShort enough that viewers do not skip it
Export formatH.264 in MP4 for uploadWidely accepted by upload platforms
Master copyHigh-quality intermediate if you recolor laterKeeps quality for re-edits

From the Vipid archive: the intro themes list shows resolution, length and frame rate for each design, which is a quick way to match an intro to your timeline settings.

Performance and benchmarks: what the sources actually say

Neither Apple nor Blackmagic publishes a head-to-head render benchmark between the two editors on the pages I checked. Apple’s October performance footnotes compare new iMac models with the previous generation, not with Resolve. Blackmagic’s homepage promotes Studio on the newest Apple and NVIDIA processors without comparing it to Final Cut Pro. So I will not print render-time numbers here. What exists is reviewer opinion, summarized below from five sources.

SourceTypeWhat it says about speed or handling
Pascal Basel, video comparisonCreator reviewFinal Cut Pro is a bit faster, especially with effects, graphics and titles
Jason Hiner, ZDNETJournalist reviewFinal Cut Pro does not handle log footage well
Apple, October 27 announcementVendorNo Resolve comparison, new hardware claims are against earlier iMacs
Blackmagic, homepageVendorPitches Studio on Apple M6 and NVIDIA RTX Spark processors, no comparison to Final Cut Pro
PetaPixel and No Film SchoolNews coverageReport 21.2 performance changes alongside touchscreen Mac support

Expert voices, with dates and limits

Pascal Basel, a video creator and technology reviewer, says in his video comparison: “Performance-wise, it’s definitely a bit faster than Resolve, especially when it comes to things like effects, graphics, titles, etc.” He also says, on workflow depth: “So, in terms of flexibility and professionalism, I would clearly have to give it to Da Vinci Resolve.” Both lines come from the same video, and the source file does not give its date, so read them as one creator’s judgment rather than a lab result.

On price, Basel adds: “However, if we take the price into account, Da Vinci Resolve is actually more affordable than Final Cut.” That line does not reflect Apple’s new Creator Studio route, where a student pays $29.99 a year. Use it as a statement about the one-time price gap, not as a current ruling. On handling, he says: “I would clearly say that Final Cut wins in that regards.” The file does not say which feature that refers to, so I leave it out of the table.

Hiner’s log-footage complaint, quoted in the color section, is the sharpest criticism in the file. It also explains why speed claims and quality claims point in different directions here. Final Cut Pro may feel quicker on titles and effects while Resolve gives you better control over how flat footage looks. Which matters more depends on what you shoot.

A repeatable test you can run in an hour

Since no vendor number settles this, run your own. Use the same footage in both editors, the same export settings, and the same machine with nothing else running. Record three timings per task and keep the median.

TestWhat to measureFinal Cut Pro resultResolve result
Import and playbackSeconds until smooth 4K playbackYour numberYour number
Title-heavy timelineDropped frames over a 60-second sequenceYour numberYour number
Log footage gradeMinutes to match a reference lookYour numberYour number
Export to H.264Wall-clock time for a 5-minute timelineYour numberYour number
Noise reduction passExport time with and without the effectYour numberYour number
Test log template
machine: ____________   OS: ____________   date: ____________
footage: ____________   codec: ____________   frame rate: ____
editor: ____________    version: ____________
task: ____________      run 1: ____ s   run 2: ____ s   run 3: ____ s
median: ____ s          notes: ____________

Keep the machine’s thermal state in mind. A laptop that throttles after ten minutes will flatter whichever editor you test first, so alternate the order across runs. Note the editor version in your log, since both vendors ship updates often and a result from one build may not hold on the next.

Requirements and hardware: Mac-only vs everywhere

The Creator Studio version of Final Cut Pro for Mac requires macOS 26.6 or later and either an Intel or an Apple-silicon Mac, though some features need Apple silicon. The iPad version needs iPadOS 26.6 or later and an iPad with an A16, A17 Pro, or M1-or-newer chip. An earlier Apple page, reportedly dated June 2026, listed an older macOS requirement for the one-time purchase, and the October 27 announcement raised it to macOS 26.6. If you stay on an older macOS, check which version your Mac can still run before you buy.

Resolve’s constraint is different. The free edition uses one processing GPU on Windows and Linux, and it limits mastering and output to Ultra HD or lower. Studio lifts both limits with multiple GPUs and higher output. For most YouTube work at 4K, the free cap does not bite. It matters if you master for cinema, deliver above Ultra HD, or want to spread render load across several cards.

RequirementFinal Cut ProDaVinci Resolve
Mac supportYes, macOS 26.6 or later for Creator Studio versionYes, cross-platform
Windows supportNoYes
Linux supportNoYes
iPad supportYes, iPadOS 26.6 or laterNot covered in the sources checked
Apple-silicon-only featuresTranscript Search, Visual Search, some othersNot applicable
GPU limit (free)Not applicableOne processing GPU on Windows and Linux

Apple’s new hardware also changes the buying math a little. Apple announced the iMac with M6 on October 27, 2026, starting at $1,499 for the 10-core configuration and $1,699 for the 12-core. If you are buying a Mac for editing this month, you can price the machine and the editor together, and Final Cut Pro’s Apple-silicon features will run natively on that hardware.

Resolve users on the Mac side get a similar boost. Coverage of the 21.2 update says Resolve now supports Apple’s new touchscreen MacBook Pro, so the same new hardware serves either editor. On new Apple hardware, then, the choice rests on workflow and price rather than on which editor supports the machine.

Real-world examples: who uses which editor and why

Named production examples are thin for Final Cut Pro in the sources I checked, since Apple’s recent announcement focuses on features. Blackmagic’s news archive gives more, so the first group below comes from there. The second group is a set of illustrative scenarios, not reports of named people.

ExampleEditorWhat it shows
Imagica EMS grading a CITIZEN ATTESA commercialResolve StudioBlackmagic’s news page names Studio for commercial grading work
The crime short Moral DirtResolve StudioBlackmagic lists it as finished with Studio
More than 50 summer films in 2026Blackmagic workflowA Blackmagic headline about its broader product line, not Resolve alone
Sundance 2026 lineupBlackmagic workflowSame caveat: a company-wide claim
iPhone Cinematic mode shot with Final Cut CameraFinal Cut ProApple added focus and depth-of-field editing controls for that footage

The first two rows are the cleanest evidence that Studio sees real finishing work, because the headlines name the product. The next two use Blackmagic’s wider workflow, so I would not read them as proof about the Resolve editor alone. The last row is a documented Apple feature rather than a customer story, but it describes a real path from phone to timeline.

Four illustrative scenarios

  • The weekly Mac YouTuber. Records on an iPhone, cuts talking-head videos, adds a title card and lower third from the built-in MotionVFX content. Final Cut Pro saves the template hunt, and the one-time $299.99 price beats the yearly plan after about 2.3 years.
  • The Windows streamer. Clips highlights into 8-minute videos on a PC. Final Cut Pro is not an option, so the free Resolve edition covers the job at 4K and $0.
  • The small studio with a colorist. Shoots on a camera with a log profile and delivers graded ads. Resolve Studio’s HDR, noise reduction and multi-GPU support justify the paid edition.
  • The student film club. Mixed Mac and Windows lab machines, no budget. A free Resolve install on every machine keeps project files compatible, while Apple’s $29.99 education plan suits members who own a Mac.

These scenarios are deliberately ordinary. Most people who search this comparison are not finishing a feature film. They want to know which program will let them upload a good video on Friday without a fight, and for that question the platform and price rows carry more weight than the finishing tools.

Use-case recommendations: six common editors

Use caseRecommendationCost to start
First-time editor on a MacFinal Cut Pro, with the one-month Creator Studio trial$0 for the first month
Student or teacherCreator Studio education plan$2.99/month or $29.99/year
Windows or Linux userDaVinci Resolve free$0
Log footage and color-critical workDaVinci Resolve StudioCheck the live promotional price
iPad and iPhone creatorFinal Cut Pro for iPad plus Final Cut CameraCheck your App Store listing
Motion-graphics-heavy introsEither editor, plus a finished-clip source$0 to $49.99 for Motion

First-time Mac editor. Start with the free trial and cut one real project. If you finish it without fighting the interface, buy the plan that fits your budget. If you stall on color or audio, install Resolve for free and compare.

Student or teacher. At $29.99 a year, the education plan costs a fraction of the one-time price. It also bundles other creative apps, which helps if your coursework spans video, music and images.

Windows or Linux user. The choice is made for you. Install the free Resolve edition, and upgrade to Studio only when the Ultra HD cap or the single-GPU limit blocks real work.

Color-critical work. Resolve Studio wins on the feature list. Budget for the paid edition and check the promotion end date, which is reported as November 20, 2026.

iPad and iPhone creator. The Final Cut family spans Mac, iPad and an iPhone capture app. If your whole workflow starts on a phone, that continuity is hard to match.

Intro and title makers. Both editors handle short animated titles. If you would rather not build one from scratch, import a finished intro and spend your time on the edit.

Migration guide: moving between Final Cut Pro and Resolve

Moving a project is mostly about preserving the cut and rebuilding the polish. Edit decisions travel through an interchange file, but effects, titles, retimes and color usually do not carry over cleanly. Plan to rebuild those. The steps below work in either direction, and the details differ by version, so test with a short project first.

Final Cut Pro to DaVinci Resolve

  1. Finish the edit. Lock picture before you export anything.
  2. Consolidate media into one folder so file paths do not break.
  3. Export an interchange file from Final Cut Pro, such as FCPXML.
  4. Import it in Resolve and relink the media folder.
  5. Check clip order, in and out points, audio levels and speed changes.
  6. Rebuild titles, transitions and effects with Resolve’s tools.
  7. Grade in Resolve, then render from its delivery workspace.

DaVinci Resolve to Final Cut Pro

  1. Lock picture and render a reference video of the Resolve cut.
  2. Export an interchange file from Resolve that Final Cut Pro can read.
  3. Import it into Final Cut Pro and relink the media.
  4. Compare against the reference video clip by clip.
  5. Rebuild effects and titles, using the MotionVFX content if it fits.
  6. Apply color in Final Cut Pro, or round-trip rendered clips if the grade must stay exact.
ItemUsually carries overUsually rebuilt
Clip order and trimsYesNo
Audio levelsOftenSometimes
Speed changesSometimesOften
Titles and textRarelyYes
TransitionsBasic onesCustom ones
Color gradeRarelyYes
Effects and plug-insRarelyYes

One practical habit saves hours: render a flat reference video before every move. It gives you something to compare frame by frame, and it is a ready backup if the interchange file drops a clip. Keep the original project until the new one passes that comparison.

Also keep your template library portable. Titles built in one editor’s native tools rarely open in the other, so export your most-used lower thirds and intros as finished video clips with alpha or a solid background. That way a switch costs you a weekend of relinking instead of a month of rebuilding. For the broader editing-software picture, including how other editors fit, the editing software hub collects the related comparisons.

Pros and cons, and the verdict

EditorProsCons
Final Cut ProOne-time $299.99 or $129/year, MotionVFX content built in, Mac, iPad and iPhone continuity, 23 extra transcription languagesMac and iPad only, search features need Apple silicon and US English, macOS 26.6 requirement, finishing tools sit in separate apps
DaVinci ResolveFree edition, cross-platform, editing, color, effects, motion graphics and audio in one app, deep Studio feature listFree edition caps output at Ultra HD with one GPU, Studio price is in flux, steeper learning curve

The verdict: for most people reading this, the decision is made by the computer on the desk. A Mac user making regular videos should start with Final Cut Pro, because the October update added templates, search and transcription that cut real time from routine work. Everyone else, and anyone who grades seriously, should start with the free Resolve edition and upgrade to Studio only when a specific limit blocks them.

The data behind that call is short. Final Cut Pro costs $299.99 once or $129 a year. Resolve’s free edition costs $0 and stops at Ultra HD. No vendor has published a head-to-head speed number, so the performance question stays a matter of your own footage and your own machine. Run the hour-long test above before you spend anything.

Common questions

Is Final Cut Pro still sold as a one-time purchase in 2026? Yes. Apple lists the Mac version at $299.99 in the US as a one-time Mac App Store purchase, and it also offers Final Cut Pro inside the Apple Creator Studio subscription. The October 27 announcement kept both routes.

Is DaVinci Resolve really free? Blackmagic offers a free edition with editing, color, visual effects, motion graphics and audio. It limits mastering and output to Ultra HD or lower and uses one processing GPU on Windows and Linux. The paid Studio edition removes those limits and adds more tools.

What is the current DaVinci Resolve version? Blackmagic’s product page lists Resolve 21, and its site and support readme show 21.1 and a Studio 21.1.2 build. Coverage from PetaPixel and No Film School reports a 21.2 update dated November 4, 2026. Check the download page for the build you get.

What changed in Final Cut Pro in October 2026? Apple added built-in MotionVFX content, Pixelmator Pro integration, a video Content Hub, more keyframe easing controls, detachable clips and 23 transcription languages. The Creator Studio version of the Mac app requires macOS 26.6 or later.

Which editor is faster? No vendor publishes a direct benchmark, and the sources here do not settle which editor is faster with effects, graphics, titles or log footage. Test both with your own clips.

Can I run Final Cut Pro on Windows? No. Final Cut Pro is available for Mac and iPad. Windows editors should look at DaVinci Resolve, whose free edition runs on Windows and Linux.

Is there a student discount? Apple offers college students and educators Apple Creator Studio at $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year in the US. Blackmagic lists no equivalent education price on the pages checked, though the free Resolve edition costs nothing.

Will my project transfer between the two editors? The cut transfers through an interchange file. Titles, effects and color usually need rebuilding, so render a reference video first and compare.

More from the Vipid blog

Make it with Vipid

Jonah Reyes

Editing & Export Editor · Vipid Team

Jonah Reyes is the Editing & Export Editor at Vipid. He covers editing software, export settings and codecs, and the video specs of YouTube, Shorts, TikTok and Reels, plus OBS and screen recording. He builds Vipid’s spec tables from the platforms’ own documentation and re-checks them every 60 to 90 days, so the numbers in a guide match what the upload dialog actually accepts.

All articles by Jonah Reyes ›   How we check tools ›

Keep reading

Instagram Video Editor on Mac [2026]: Free 4K Edits
Editing Software

Instagram Video Editor on Mac [2026]: Free 4K Edits

Jonah Reyes·6 Nov 2026
CapCut Alternative Concat [2026]: Free, 4K60, No Watermark
Editing Software

CapCut Alternative Concat [2026]: Free, 4K60, No Watermark

Jonah Reyes·5 Nov 2026
AutoCut in Premiere Pro [2026]: 10 AI Tools, $14.90/mo
Editing Software

AutoCut in Premiere Pro [2026]: 10 AI Tools, $14.90/mo

Jonah Reyes·5 Nov 2026

Blog

Intros & Templates
Titles & Motion
Streaming
Editing & Export
AI Video

Vipid

About Vipid
Themes
News archive 2011–2016
Vipid Team

Editorial

Editorial policy
How we check tools
Corrections

Legal

Privacy policy
Terms of service
Making video intros since 2010.
The Vipid blog covers the tools behind them.