Video Templates

Canva Video Templates [2026]: 4 Tools, $0 to 4K Export

Canva Video Templates [2026]: 4 Tools, $0 to 4K Export

Canva video templates are still the widest door into branded video for most YouTubers, but in November 2026 they are not the only door and not the one with the clearest free export. Canva’s “What Will You Canva Today?” campaign names video and photo editing among its product areas, which tells you where the company wants your next project to start.

This comparison puts Canva next to three browser-first rivals that also sell template-driven video: Microsoft Clipchamp, VistaCreate and Kapwing. It covers free-plan limits, watermarks, export caps, price, AI features and team seats. Where a number comes from a third-party price check instead of the vendor’s own page, the text says so.

One boundary first. If your real question is licence terms for templates from CapCut, Canva and Adobe, read that guide instead. This one stays on the four tools above and on what each plan lets you export on November 8, 2026.

Canva Video Templates in November 2026: What Changed

The short answer: the editor behind canva video templates kept its name this autumn, and no rename or retirement was confirmed for it or for any of the three rivals between August and November 2026. Canva’s pricing page still lists four plans, Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise. Canva’s Trust and Security portal describes the product as a collaborative online design and publishing platform for social posts, presentations, videos, posters, logos and websites. Video is one format among several, not the headline act.

Two AI releases landed in the last three weeks. Canva introduced Craft, its first in-house image-generation foundation model, and says it generates images up to 2K resolution and is available in Canva and through the public API. For a template user that means custom backgrounds and title art. It does not mean 2K video. Craft makes images, and nothing in the sources checked ties its 2K ceiling to video export.

Days later Canva announced Brush, a vision-language model for design editing. At launch it powered supported Canva AI edits for Pro subscribers, with wider availability described as coming. Canva reports that Brush is up to 69% faster for general design-editing tasks and costs 46% less per edit task than its previous design agent. Those are company-reported figures, not independent tests, and they describe edit tasks in general, not video template work.

Then came the people news. According to a DEV Community comparison with prices checked on November 4, Canva announced on November 3 and 4 that changes would affect 1,271 roles, roughly 22% of its global workforce, and that Product, Growth and Platform would merge into one Product Organization. Melanie Perkins remains co-founder and CEO.

What should a creator do with that? Nothing dramatic. Restructuring does not delete your saved projects. It does raise a fair question about how fast new template features will arrive, and it is a good reason to keep your brand colours, fonts and logo files in a folder you control instead of only inside one editor.

For the typical YouTube workflow, the template question breaks into three jobs. You need an intro or title sting of a few seconds, a lower third that carries your name and topic, and an end screen that hands viewers to the next video. A good template tool lets you rebuild all three from one brand kit in under an hour. The rest of this guide asks which of the four tools makes that job cheapest, clearest and least likely to surprise you at export.

Specs Table: Canva vs Clipchamp vs VistaCreate vs Kapwing

Below is the side-by-side view. Every cell comes from a vendor page or a clearly labelled third-party report. Where the sources checked do not state a figure, the cell says so instead of guessing. Check the vendor’s pricing page before you pay, because plan limits shift without announcements.

SpecCanvaClipchampVistaCreateKapwing
Product typeOnline design and publishing platform with videoMicrosoft video editor tied to Microsoft 365AI design platform (“the new VistaCreate”, announced October 27, 2026)Browser video editor with AI model interface called Kai
Plan namesFree, Pro, Business, EnterpriseFree, plus Premium via Microsoft 365Free tier, ProFree, Pro
Free-plan watermarkNot stated in sources checkedNoneNot stated in sources checkedYes, reported
Free-plan export lengthNot stated in sources checkedNot stated in sources checkedNot stated in sources checkedUp to 4 minutes
Top paid export resolutionNot stated in sources checked4K UHD (Premium)Not stated in sources checked4K, reported
Paid price, USPro $18/month or $144/year, reportedIncluded with Microsoft 365 Personal and FamilyPro $13/month or $120/yearPro $16/month billed annually or $24/month, reported
Team priceBusiness $25/person/month or $250/person/year, reportedPremium and AI video creation need a Copilot license on work plansPro includes up to 10 team membersNot stated in sources checked
Free trialNot stated in sources checkedNot stated in sources checked14 days on ProNot stated in sources checked
Brand toolsNot stated in sources checkedBrand-kit tools in PremiumNot stated in sources checkedNot stated in sources checked
Newest AI additionCraft (images) and Brush (design edits)AI video upscaling in the Windows appRelaunch as an AI design platformSeedance 2.5 through Kai
AI video clipsImage generation only in sources checkedUpscaling, not generationNot stated in sources checkedSeedance 2.5 clips up to 30 seconds
Work and education pathEnterprise tier listed on the pricing pageMicrosoft 365 business and education licencesNot stated in sources checkedNot stated in sources checked
Rename or retirement, August to November 2026None confirmedNone confirmedNone confirmedNone confirmed

Three patterns jump out. Only Clipchamp has a documented watermark-free free plan. Only Kapwing has a documented free-plan length cap. And only Clipchamp and Kapwing put a 4K export on a named paid tier. Canva and VistaCreate leave the export questions to checkout screens that the sources did not capture.

Read the “not stated” cells as homework, not as defects. They mean a vendor page, as retrieved for this article, did not give a figure that could be checked against a second source. A cell can be empty here and still be answered on the live pricing page, so spend two minutes there before you commit to a tool. The table also leaves out things that no vendor publishes, such as render times and template-by-template asset lists. Those you only learn by exporting.

What You Get on Each Free Plan

Free plans decide whether a template is a real tool or a demo. Here is the free-plan line for each tool, with the confidence level stated up front.

Canva free plan. One report says free-account videos download as MP4 files up to 30 minutes long at 1,920 x 1,080. Treat that as reported, not confirmed, because Canva’s pricing page as retrieved for this article does not state the figures in a form we could verify. Canva’s pricing page does list Free as one of its four plans. Expect paid-only elements inside some templates, and check the preview before you build around them.

Clipchamp free plan. The free plan exports without a watermark, according to a comparison dated October 30. Reportedly it also allows unlimited projects and exports, AI subtitles, AI voiceovers, silence removal and exports up to 1080p Full HD. Projects that use premium assets or other paid features may need an upgrade before export. That last point matters for templates, since a template is only free if every stock clip and effect inside it is free too.

VistaCreate free plan. A VistaCreate article updated November 3 names Starter as the free plan and Pro as the paid one. It says the AI Image Generator, Object Remover, Background Remover and Resize tools need Pro. For a video creator, Resize is the one to watch. Turning a 16:9 template into a vertical Short is the most common job, and it reportedly sits behind the paywall.

Kapwing free plan. Kapwing’s own page lists “Export videos up to 4 minutes long” as a plan feature. A November price check reported the free tier as $0 with a Kapwing watermark and 720p exports, and Kapwing’s own materials say watermark-free export needs Pro. A July 2026 release note adds that free MCP exports are blocked for several Pro-gated inputs: pasted-link imports, videos longer than 4 minutes, layers with auto-removed backgrounds, and premium stock assets. Reportedly the free export limit rose from 1 minute to 4 minutes in August.

The ranking on pure free-plan clarity runs Clipchamp, Kapwing, Canva, VistaCreate. That order reflects how much each vendor documents, not how good the editors are. A tool with a murky free plan may still suit you. You just need to test one full export before you commit a channel’s worth of work.

A fifteen-minute free-plan test works on all four. Open a template, replace the title text with your channel name, swap in one clip of your own, add a free music track, and export the result. Then check five things in the finished file: watermark, resolution, length, audio and whether any element was greyed out as premium. If all five pass, build the real video. If one fails, you learned it before the edit, not after.

Pricing Compared: $0 to $250 a Year

Prices below are US figures. Canva and Kapwing amounts come from third-party price checks, which is why the table labels them as reported. VistaCreate’s numbers come from its own help centre. Clipchamp’s premium features come bundled into Microsoft 365, and its official page does not show a standalone price in the pages retrieved.

PlanMonthly billingAnnual billingSource typeWhat the tier adds
Canva Pro$18$144Third-party price checkBrush access at launch
Canva Business$25 per person$250 per personThird-party price checkPer-person team billing
Clipchamp PremiumBundled in Microsoft 365 Personal and FamilyBundledOfficial pricing pagePremium stock, brand-kit tools, 4K UHD export, no watermark
VistaCreate Pro$13$120 upfront ($10 a month equivalent)VistaCreate help centreUp to 10 team members, 14-day free trial
Kapwing Pro$24$16 a month, billed annuallyThird-party price checkNo watermark, 4K export, reported

Do the yearly math, because billing choice moves the bill more than tool choice does. Canva Pro at $18 a month costs $216 over twelve months, against $144 billed annually. That gap is $72. VistaCreate Pro at $13 a month costs $156 against $120 upfront, a $36 gap. Kapwing Pro at $24 a month costs $288 against $192 on annual billing, a $96 gap. The tool with the lowest sticker price (VistaCreate on annual billing, at $10 a month equivalent) is also the one whose numbers come straight from the vendor.

Enterprise is a separate conversation. Canva Enterprise is reportedly custom-priced, so you talk to sales. Nonprofits have a cheaper route. Canva’s own page says eligible nonprofits can get a free subscription with all the premium features of Canva Pro, plus team and collaboration tools, for one team of up to 50 users, and extra seats cost 50% less on Canva Enterprise.

One caution on the Canva figures. Other trackers list different amounts depending on region and checkout setup, so confirm the price on Canva’s own screen before you pay. Whatever you find, remember the cost of a template tool is not just the subscription. It is also the hours you spend rebuilding a brand kit if you switch.

A simple rule keeps you from overbuying. Stay on the free plan until a documented limit blocks a real video, then pay for exactly one month of the plan that removes that limit. If the limit was a watermark or a resolution cap, one month is usually enough to finish the batch. If it was a team seat or a brand kit, move to annual billing, because the gap between monthly and annual is the largest saving on the whole list.

Watermarks, Export Limits and Render Settings

Export rules decide whether a template video is publishable. The picture is uneven. Clipchamp’s free plan carries no watermark. Kapwing’s free plan carries one. Canva’s watermark depends on whether the design uses paid elements, a pattern the sources checked could not confirm for November 2026, so test it with your actual template.

Resolution is the second filter. Clipchamp Premium exports watermark-free up to 4K UHD, according to its official comparison. Kapwing Pro is reported to offer 4K without a watermark. Canva and VistaCreate did not publish a video export ceiling in the pages retrieved, and the 2K figure attached to Canva Craft belongs to images only.

Render settings

For a standard YouTube upload built from a template, these are the settings worth aiming for. The caps column shows where each tool’s documented limit bites.

SettingTarget for YouTubeWhere a cap bites
ResolutionNot listedKapwing free reported at 720p, Clipchamp 4K UHD needs Premium
Frame rateMatch your camera footage, do not upsampleNo tool in the sources states a frame-rate cap
LengthWhole video in one export when possibleKapwing free stops at 4 minutes
FormatMP4 for the final uploadClipchamp also lists MP3 audio-only exports
WatermarkNonePresent on Kapwing free, absent on Clipchamp free
AssetsFree stock only on free plansCheck every asset inside a template before you export

A practical habit: export a ten-second test from the template before you build the whole project. If a watermark, a resolution drop or an upgrade prompt appears, you find out in two minutes instead of two hours. Then watch the test at full screen on the device where most of your viewers watch.

Vertical video adds a wrinkle. A template built for 16:9 does not become a good Short just by changing the canvas. Titles drift off-centre, lower thirds cover faces and end screens land in the wrong place. Build a separate vertical version from the master edit, and check whether your tool gates the resize step. VistaCreate reportedly puts Resize behind Pro, so a vertical-first creator should price that in from day one.

Template Libraries: Size, Style and How You Edit Them

Library size is the number every vendor wants to quote and the one that tells you least. VistaCreate’s plan comparison lists 200,000-plus templates and more than 170 million photos, videos and vectors on Pro, according to the page updated October 28. Clipchamp reportedly announced more than 100 video templates on September 23. Canva and Kapwing did not publish a comparable video-template count in the sources checked.

Treat those figures as different units. VistaCreate’s count spans design formats, so only a slice is video. Clipchamp’s number is video-only and much smaller. A smaller library of video-first templates can serve a YouTuber better than a huge one where video is a side category.

What matters more is how the template behaves when you swap your content in. Look for four things. Do text boxes resize when your title is longer than the placeholder? Does the colour scheme follow your brand kit, or do you recolour each layer by hand? Can you change the aspect ratio without redrawing the layout? And does the template ship with music that you can legally keep once you export?

Canva’s strength is the range of formats under one account. A thumbnail, a title card and a lower third can start from the same brand colours and fonts, which cuts the setup time per video. Clipchamp’s strength is the Microsoft 365 tie-in, so a template lives in the same account as your other Microsoft work. VistaCreate leans on its AI tools and a large asset library. Kapwing leans on AI generation and AI-assisted editing workflows.

Use a quick scoring pass when you shortlist templates. Give each candidate a point for editable text, a point for brand-colour control, a point for a clean vertical version, a point for royalty-free music and a point for an export that passes your ten-second test. Anything under four points costs more time than it saves. This sounds fussy, but it takes ten minutes and prevents the classic mistake of building a month of videos on a template that breaks at export.

If you want to compare more template sources than these four, our video templates hub collects the guides on template libraries, editors and licences. And if you only need a branded opener, remember that a template is not the only route. A purpose-built intro maker may beat a general editor for a 5-second sting.

AI Features Inside Video Templates

AI is the part of this comparison that changed most in the last 90 days. Each vendor took a different bet, and they matter differently for someone filling a template.

Canva: Craft and Brush

Craft covers image creation, which is useful for backgrounds and thumbnails inside canva video templates. Brush covers editing tasks on a design, and Pro subscribers got it first. Canva’s claimed speed and cost gains (up to 69% faster, 46% lower cost per edit task) describe Canva’s own comparison with its prior design agent. Judge them by how quickly your own edits finish, not by the percentages. Also remember that neither model is described as generating video, so a Canva template still relies on your footage or on stock clips.

Kapwing: Seedance models and agent workflows

Kapwing goes furthest on generated video. A July 2026 release note says Kapwing added Grok Imagine, Seedance 2.0 and Happy Horse 1.0 to Kai, and describes Seedance 2.0 as making 4 to 15-second clips with synchronized audio. Kapwing’s own tutorial on building a film workflow with Seedance 2.5 describes clips up to 30 seconds and support for reference images. The company’s guides also cover ChatGPT editing, Claude-based translation and dubbing, and Claude Code and Codex integrations.

Credits are the catch. Kapwing’s tutorials report about 134 credits for a 4.8-second Seedance 2.5 clip and 233 credits for a 10-second one. Credit prices depend on your plan, so one generated intro background can eat a visible share of a monthly allowance. The tutorials also describe a lower-resolution draft step, which is the sensible way to test a prompt before you spend credits on the final render.

Clipchamp and VistaCreate

Clipchamp’s newest dated AI item is video upscaling in the Windows app, listed on its What’s new page updated October 14, with output choices up to 4K reported. Upscaling helps old footage, not template layouts. Clipchamp keeps product posts on its blog, so check there for newer features. VistaCreate’s October 27 relaunch as an AI design platform adds guided design workflows. Its AI Image Generator and Background Remover reportedly need Pro.

For a template user, the honest summary is that generated video is a Kapwing story, generated images are a Canva and VistaCreate story, and polish for existing footage is a Clipchamp story. None of these replaces a clean, licensed template. They decorate it.

Six Real-World Scenarios

The scenarios below are worked examples built from the published limits above. They are illustrations of how the limits play out, not case studies of named channels.

Scenario 1, the 12-minute tutorial. A channel posts a 12-minute screen tutorial with a branded intro. On Kapwing’s free plan, the 4-minute cap means three separate exports (12 divided by 4), plus a join step elsewhere. That breaks the point of a template. Clipchamp’s free plan, with no documented length cap in the sources, fits better.

Scenario 2, the Microsoft 365 household. A family already pays for Microsoft 365 Personal or Family. Clipchamp’s premium features, including 4K UHD watermark-free export, come with that subscription. Adding a second paid editor would duplicate spend. This is the cheapest path on the list for a household that already has the bundle.

Scenario 3, the 8-person shop. A small business with eight staff makes weekly social video. VistaCreate Pro at $13 a month covers up to 10 team members, according to its help centre. That is a stated team ceiling the other pricing pages retrieved do not give. Compare it with Canva Business at a reported $25 per person per month, or $250 per person per year, which applies to each of the eight people.

Scenario 4, the 150-person company. A company of 150 people is beyond what any self-serve plan in this table describes. Canva Enterprise is reportedly custom-priced, so the first step is a sales conversation, and Clipchamp’s work version depends on Microsoft 365 business licences plus a Copilot license for premium and AI video features.

Scenario 5, the nonprofit team. A charity with a team of up to 50 people can apply for Canva Pro features free through Canva’s nonprofit programme, which beats any paid plan in this table on price. A nonprofit with 80 volunteers would need extra seats, which Canva says are half price on Enterprise.

Scenario 6, the AI b-roll experiment. A creator wants a 20-second generated opener behind a title. Kapwing’s Seedance 2.5 is described as supporting clips up to 30 seconds. One 10-second Seedance 2.5 shot cost 233 credits in Kapwing’s own guide, and costs vary by feature, so check the credit estimate Kai shows before you confirm.

The pattern across all six: the limit that bites is rarely the headline price. It is the 4-minute cap, the seat ceiling, the premium asset hiding inside a free template or the credit bill for a generated clip. Read your own project against these four limits before you pick a plan.

Licence, Brand Kits and Team Seats

Licences answer the question every sponsored video raises: can I use this template for client work? None of the four vendor pages retrieved for this article quote their template-reuse terms in a form we could verify, so read each licence page before you ship paid work. Do it once per tool, then save the page.

Brand kits are the other time saver. Clipchamp Premium lists brand-kit tools alongside premium stock. VistaCreate is reported to include unlimited Brand Kits on Pro. Canva’s brand-kit details were not confirmed in the pages retrieved. The point of a brand kit is consistency: one set of colours, fonts and logos applied the same way to every template, so a viewer recognises your channel in the first second of a video.

Seats follow a similar pattern. Clipchamp’s work version is included with some Microsoft 365 business and education licences, though premium features and AI video creation need a Copilot license, according to the pricing page updated October 30. VistaCreate Pro covers up to 10 team members. Canva lists Pro, Business and Enterprise tiers, with Business priced per person. Kapwing’s team pricing could not be confirmed here.

Music deserves its own warning. A template that arrives with a soundtrack does not always give you the rights to that track on every platform. Strip the music, add your own licensed audio, and keep the licence receipt next to the project file. A claim on a monetised video costs more than any subscription in this comparison.

Team workflow matters as much as price. When three people touch a template, you need one owner for the brand kit and a naming rule for exports. Without it, five versions of the same intro appear within a month, and nobody remembers which one carries the current logo. A shared folder with a dated master file and a one-line changelog solves most of this for free.

Evidence Check: What Each Source Confirms

No vendor publishes render-time benchmarks for template exports, so a speed shootout would be invention. The fairer comparison is to line up what each published source confirms and where it goes quiet. The table covers seven sources across vendor pages and third-party checks.

SourceTypeWhat it confirmsWhat it leaves out
Canva campaign page (October 30)Vendor newsroomVideo and photo editing named among Canva’s product areasPlan limits and prices
Clipchamp pricing page (October 30)Vendor pricingPremium stock, brand-kit tools, watermark-free 4K UHD, Microsoft 365 linkStandalone price
Clipchamp What’s new page (October 14)Vendor release notesAI video upscaling in the Windows app, MP3 audio-only exportTemplate counts
VistaCreate help centreVendor supportPro at $13 a month or $120 a year, 10 members, 14-day trialVideo export ceiling
Kapwing release notes (July 2026)Vendor release notesNew models in Kai, Pro-gated inputs on free exportsCurrent price
Kapwing resource guides (October and November)Vendor tutorialsSeedance 2.5 clip lengths, credit costs for sample generationsPlan allowances
DEV Community price check (November 4)Third partyReported Canva and Kapwing prices, restructuring figuresVendor confirmation

Read the gaps as carefully as the confirmations. The two items every creator asks about first, watermark and export resolution, are documented for only two of the four tools. That is a finding in itself. It tells you to run your own ten-second export test before trusting any comparison page, this one included.

Price data is the weakest link. Third-party trackers disagree with each other for Canva, partly because regional pricing and billing options differ. When two trackers differ, trust the number on the checkout screen you see in your own country and on the billing cycle you will actually choose.

Dates matter too. The Clipchamp pricing page and the VistaCreate plan page carry late-October update dates, while the Kapwing release note covers July. A plan can change between those dates and today, so treat any limit older than a month as a prompt to re-check, not as a fact to build a budget on.

Pros and Cons of Each Tool

Canva

  • Pro: one account covers video, presentations, posters, logos and websites, according to Canva’s own description, so brand assets can carry across formats.
  • Pro: Brush and Craft add AI editing and image generation, with Pro subscribers first in line for Brush.
  • Pro: a free plan is listed, and a nonprofit route offers Pro features for free.
  • Con: the free-plan watermark and export rules could not be confirmed from the sources checked.
  • Con: the company restructuring announced November 3 and 4 adds uncertainty about roadmap speed.
  • Con: reported Pro and Business prices differ across trackers, so budget from the checkout screen.

Microsoft Clipchamp

  • Pro: free exports carry no watermark.
  • Pro: premium features, including 4K UHD export, ride along with Microsoft 365 Personal and Family.
  • Pro: AI video upscaling arrived in the Windows app this autumn.
  • Con: no standalone price appears on the official pages retrieved.
  • Con: work plans need a Copilot license for premium features and AI video creation.
  • Con: its video template count is reportedly much smaller than the design platforms.

VistaCreate

  • Pro: the cheapest documented paid plan at $120 a year or $10 a month equivalent.
  • Pro: Pro covers up to 10 team members and starts with a 14-day trial.
  • Pro: a very large template and asset library, reported at 200,000-plus templates.
  • Con: Resize, AI Image Generator and Background Remover reportedly need Pro.
  • Con: video export limits are not stated in the pages retrieved.
  • Con: the October 27 relaunch is new, so expect interface changes.

Kapwing

  • Pro: the deepest AI video generation here, with Seedance 2.5 clips up to 30 seconds.
  • Pro: clear documentation of the 4-minute free export cap.
  • Pro: automatic subtitle translation into over 60 languages, according to its page.
  • Con: free exports carry a watermark, reportedly at 720p.
  • Con: AI generation burns credits quickly, at about 233 for a 10-second clip.
  • Con: Pro-gated inputs block several free export routes.

Which Tool Fits Which Creator

Pick by the job in front of you, not by the logo. Here are seven matches, each with the reason.

  1. Weekly YouTuber on a $0 budget: Clipchamp. The free plan exports with no watermark, so a template video is publishable on day one.
  2. Microsoft 365 household: Clipchamp Premium. You already pay for it, and it brings 4K UHD export without a separate bill.
  3. Small business with up to 10 people: VistaCreate Pro. At $120 a year it has the lowest documented price and a stated team ceiling.
  4. Brand-heavy creator who also makes posters and slides: Canva. One account spans several formats, so colours and fonts stay shared.
  5. AI-first experimenter: Kapwing. Seedance 2.5 clips up to 30 seconds are the longest generated clips documented here.
  6. Large organization: Canva Enterprise, handled through sales, or Clipchamp through Microsoft 365 business licences.
  7. Nonprofit team up to 50 users: Canva’s nonprofit programme, which grants Pro features at no cost.

Notice what is missing: a single winner for every case. If a reader forces me to pick one for a first-time creator who wants a clean watermark-free export today, I pick Clipchamp. For a team that lives in design formats beyond video, Canva earns its place.

There is a second way to choose, and it works well for creators who dislike subscriptions. Pick the tool that already sits inside something you pay for. A Microsoft 365 subscriber gets Clipchamp Premium without a new bill. Anyone with a nonprofit status gets Canva Pro features free. Everyone else should compare the annual figures from the pricing table and start with the lowest documented one.

Migration Guide: Moving Your Templates Between Tools

Plan on rebuilding rather than importing. None of the sources checked describe a way to carry a template from one of these editors into another, so a switch means recreating the layout. The steps below keep that rebuild short.

  1. Export your finished videos from the old tool before you cancel anything. Keep the highest resolution it allows.
  2. Save your logo as a transparent PNG and your brand colours as hex codes in a plain text file.
  3. List the fonts you use and confirm each one is available in the new tool before you commit.
  4. Screenshot each template layout you reuse, including text positions and timing, as a rebuild reference.
  5. Rebuild one template first, then run a ten-second test export to catch watermarks and resolution drops.
  6. Move your licensed music files into the new project, keeping the licence receipts beside them.
  7. Rebuild the aspect-ratio variants (16:9, 9:16, 1:1) from the finished master, not from scratch.
  8. Keep the old subscription for one billing cycle until three real videos have shipped from the new tool.

Budget half a day for the first template and under an hour for each after it. Once the first one works, the rest are copy and swap. Track it in a simple checklist so a teammate can finish the move if you get pulled onto a deadline.

One more habit pays off. Keep a master project with unlocked layers somewhere you control, such as a local folder or a shared drive. If a vendor changes a plan or a company restructures, you keep your work and can move on a schedule that suits you.

Moving between two of these tools also resets small things nobody lists: default fonts, safe-zone margins, audio levels and caption styling. Spend ten minutes on those in the new editor before the first real export, and compare the result against an old video side by side. If the new version looks different at a glance, a viewer will notice too.

Verdict: Which Tool Wins on the Numbers

The takeaway: Clipchamp wins on free-plan clarity, VistaCreate wins on documented price, Kapwing wins on generated video, and canva video templates win on breadth of formats. No tool wins every row, and the numbers show why.

Here is the data behind each call. Clipchamp is the only free plan documented as watermark-free, and Premium comes with Microsoft 365 for 4K UHD. VistaCreate Pro costs $120 a year against a reported $144 for Canva Pro and $192 for Kapwing Pro on annual billing, and it covers up to 10 team members. Kapwing documents 30-second generated clips and a 4-minute free cap. Canva describes the widest range of formats and shipped two new AI models this autumn.

For most solo YouTubers I would start with Clipchamp, test one export, and add a paid plan only when a limit actually blocks a video. For a team of up to 10 with a tight budget, start with VistaCreate Pro. For a creator whose work spans video, posters and slides, stay with Canva and keep your brand files portable. For AI-heavy openers, try Kapwing with a small credit budget.

One caveat applies to the whole comparison. Canva and Kapwing prices here come from third-party trackers, and several export limits could not be confirmed. Re-check the vendor’s pricing page on the day you buy, and run the ten-second test export. That habit will protect you better than any ranking, this one included.

Questions creators ask

Are Canva video templates free?

Canva’s pricing page lists a Free plan, and one report says free accounts can download MP4 video up to 30 minutes at 1,920 x 1,080. Canva’s pricing page did not confirm those limits in the sources checked, and templates that use paid elements may need an upgrade. Test one export before you build a full video.

Which tool exports without a watermark on the free plan?

Clipchamp’s free plan exports without a watermark, according to a comparison dated October 30. Kapwing’s free plan adds a watermark, and Kapwing’s own materials say watermark-free export needs Pro.

How much does VistaCreate Pro cost?

VistaCreate’s help centre lists Pro at $13 a month with monthly billing or $120 a year billed upfront, which works out to $10 a month. Pro includes up to 10 team members and a 14-day free trial.

Does Clipchamp export in 4K?

Yes, on the premium side. Clipchamp’s official comparison lists watermark-free exports up to 4K UHD for Premium, and premium features come with Microsoft 365 Personal and Family. Work plans need a Copilot license for premium features and AI video creation.

What is the Kapwing free export limit?

Kapwing’s plan list says export videos up to 4 minutes long. Reportedly that limit rose from 1 minute to 4 minutes in August 2026. For a longer video you need Pro or several exports.

Did Canva launch new AI tools recently?

Yes. Canva introduced Craft, an image-generation model, and Brush, a vision-language model for design editing, in the last few weeks. Brush reached Pro subscribers first, with wider access described as coming.

Can I move my Canva template to another editor?

The sources checked describe no template import or export between these editors, so plan on rebuilding the layout. Export your finished videos, save your logo and colour codes, and test one rebuilt template before you cancel anything.

More from the Vipid blog

Make it with Vipid

Theo Vance

Intros & Templates Editor · Vipid Team

Theo Vance is the Intros & Templates Editor at Vipid, where he covers intro and outro makers, template libraries for CapCut, Canva and the major editors, slideshow and video-card tools, and stream starting screens. He compares makers on what matters before you hit render: watermark, export resolution, length limits, licence and price, and dates every check. He also looks after the Vipid theme archive, the 2011–2016 intros the site was built on.

All articles by Theo Vance ›   How we check tools ›

Keep reading

After Effects Templates [2026]: $16.50/mo vs Free
Video Templates

After Effects Templates [2026]: $16.50/mo vs Free

Theo Vance·5 Nov 2026
YouTube Outro Maker [2026]: 5 Tools Compared, $0 Start
Intro Makers

YouTube Outro Maker [2026]: 5 Tools Compared, $0 Start

Theo Vance·8 Nov 2026
YouTube End Screen Template [2026]: 12 Steps, 25 Min
Intro Makers

YouTube End Screen Template [2026]: 12 Steps, 25 Min

Theo Vance·2 Nov 2026

Blog

Intros & Templates
Titles & Motion
Streaming
Editing & Export
AI Video

Vipid

About Vipid
Themes
News archive 2011–2016
Vipid Team

Editorial

Editorial policy
How we check tools
Corrections

Legal

Privacy policy
Terms of service
Making video intros since 2010.
The Vipid blog covers the tools behind them.